Understanding the Stages of Hypertension

There are various stages of hypertension or high blood pressure. Also, there are some different factors that can cause a temporary increase in your blood pressure, like stress and anxiety.

Well, most of us can feel anxious and with much stress at some point in our lives. This is why we can't say that someone has hypertension if the first reading has on display, for example, that your blood pressure is between 140-159/90-99 mmHg.     

Because of this, your doctor can't diagnose hypertension if your reading is between 140-159/90-99 mmHg for the first time. After the first visit to your doctor, it will be necessary to make two or more readings before a diagnosis can be done.

Blood pressure is defined by different range of values. 

Let's see:

  • If your blood  pressure is lower than 120/80 mmHg, then it is considered normal.

  • If your blood pressure is between 120-129/80-89 mmHg, then it is considered as pre-hypertension. At this stage you should monitor it more often. Remember that you can have it, even if you don't feel any specific symptom.

  • If your blood pressure is between 140-159/90-99, then this means that this is classified as primary hypertension, or also called stage 1 hypertension.

  • If your blood pressure is between 160-179/100-109, then this is classified as secondary hypertension, or also called stage 2 hypertension.

See the stages of hypertension chart below to learn the range of values:              


Normal Less than 120 Less than 80
Pre-hypertension   120 - 139 systolic  
80 - 89 diastolic  
Stage 1 140 - 159 systolic  90 - 99 diastolic
Stage 2 160 - 179 systolic 100 - 109 diastolic  
Stage 3 180 - 209 systolic 110 - 119 diastolic
Stage 4 Greater than 210 Greater than 120


Return from Stages of Hypertension to What is Stage 3

Back to Home Page

Contact usSite Map | Disclosure Policy | Disclaimer | Privacy Policy  | About us